## Join Us for a Conversation on Inclusion in the Aerospace Industry

Co-hosted by the AIAA National Capital Section, AIAA Mid-Atlantic Section, UMD AIAA, and UMD WIAA



**Ann Darrin** is the Managing Executive of the Space Exploration Sector at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL). She is a technology innovator with an extensive background in aerospace, science, technology, and systems engineering management across government, industry, and academia. This year, Darrin was selected by The Daily Record as an Influential Marylander. She has overseen several technological firsts — such as ultra-miniaturized spacecraft for sustained, long-term operations — and is a strong advocate for internships and mentoring, having helped to establish a NASA internship program at APL that now hosts more than 40 students a year. Additionally, Darrin is a member of the Board of the Maryland Space Business Roundtable, a member of the Science Council at

the Maryland Science Center, a technical reviewer for IEEE Sensors, and the editor and author of several books on space and engineering.



**Mayra Montrose** is Program Executive for Earth Science Flight Missions in the Science Mission Directorate (SMD) of NASA. She currently manages the development of four spaceflight projects: GeoCarb, PREFIRE, EMIT, and ECOSTRESS. She worked at the NSF from 2006 to 2014, where she served as Manager of the Presidential National Medal of Science and the NSF Alan T. Waterman Award. She was also the Executive Secretary of the Committee on Science of the White House National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) that coordinates science policy for the U.S. Federal Government, and of the Committee on STEM Education of the NSTC. She has received numerous achievement awards acknowledging her significant contributions, including two from the European Space Agency and the

German Space Agency, and the NASA Cooperative External Achievement Award for her efforts in serving as an interface with new prospective commercial partners of NASA. She earned Masters and Bachelor degrees in Computer Engineering at the University of South Florida in Tampa. Ms. Montrose was born and raised in Puerto Rico.



**Darryll Pines** has served as dean and the Nariman Farvardin Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the Clark School since January 2009. He first arrived in 1995 as an assistant professor and later served as chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering from 2006 to 2009. As dean, Pines has led the development of the Clark School's 2020 Strategic Plan and achieved notable successes in key areas, such as improving teaching in fundamental undergraduate courses and raising student retention. Pines' current research focuses on structural dynamics, including structural health monitoring and prognosis, smart sensors, and adaptive, morphing, and biologically-inspired structures, as well as the guidance, navigation, and control of uninhabited aerospace vehicles. He is a fellow of the Institute of Physics, the

ASME, and the AIAA and has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award. Pines received a B.S. in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley. He earned M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.



**Luc Riesbeck** is a second-year Master's candidate at the Space Policy Institute. They received their bachelor's degree in Social Sciences with a minor in Global China Studies from New York University Shanghai in 2018. Their area of research is in commercial space and space sustainability issues, including solutions for active debris removal, on-orbit satellite servicing, and other applications for advanced robotics for rendezvous and proximity operations in space. Luc has held several apprenticeship positions while pursuing their studies, including at NASA Headquarters, Space Angels (as a Brooke Owens Fellow), Secure World Foundation, and Bryce Space and Technology. They currently serve as a Graduate Intern at the Center for Space Policy and Strategy within the Aerospace Corporation, as well

SHAPING THE FUTURE OF AEROSPACE

as a consultant for Astroscale. In their spare time, Luc enjoys traveling and engaging in conversations on ethics and inclusion.

The panel will be moderated by Quinn Kupec, President of the University of Maryland AIAA, and Julia Mittelstaedt, President of the University of Maryland WIAA.